What is the Eurovision? Here are some interesting facts about is.

The Eurovision Song Contest is the longest-running annual international TV song competition, held, primarily, among the member countries of the European Broadcasting Union since 1956. It is also one of the most watched non-sporting events in the world, with audience figures having been quoted in recent years as anything between 100 million and 600 million internationally.

Eligibility to participate is not determined by geographic inclusion within the continent of Europe, despite the “Euro” in “Eurovision” – nor does it have any relation to the European Union. Several countries geographically outside the boundaries of Europe have competed: Israel and Cyprus, since 1973 and 1981 respectively; Australia in the Australian continent, since 2015 and Morocco, in North Africa, in the 1980 competition alone. In addition, several transcontinental countries with only part of their territory in Europe have competed: Turkey, since 1975; Russia, since 1994; Armenia, since 2006; Georgia, since 2007; and Azerbaijan, which made its first appearance in the 2008 edition.

Israel has won the Eurovision song competition 3 times in the past.

The first time was in 1978 with the song A-Ba-Ni-Bi by Izhar Cohen and Alphabeta:


In 1979 Jerusalem was the host city for the Eurovision song contest and won again with the song Hallelujah by Gali Atari and Milk & Honey song:


Israel did not host the Eurovision for a second year in a row. Later in 1998 Israel has won the Eurovision song contest again with the song Diva by Dana International, who was also the first transgender to win the Eurovision (followed by Conchita Wurst from Austria in 2014).


This year Israel has won 23rd place in the Eurovision song contest with this song:


And to sum up, here is an all-time favorite Israeli song that was written especially for the Eurovision and won 9th place!


Hope you enjoyed these songs.

Until next time…